onethessthree8

'For now we really live, since you are standing firm in the Lord….'

CCK Shoreham – Prayer/Fast Day #2

Good morning!  Trusting you had a fruitful day #1!

Praying and fasting corporately is fun!  That’s the verdict after day 1 alone.  It was great to get phone calls and emails about things that God had impressed on people’s hearts and minds yesterday, and as we push through together we can expect action on all sorts of levels.

My flesh has been complaining bitterly today already, and I was reminded of the following scripture….

But He said to me, My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.  Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

When we acknowledge our weaknesses, that’s like an open door for God to rush in and act.  That’s what I want for us out West.  Seeing our new Sunday venue established in ways that cause us (and others!) to point confidently at the hand of a strong God!

Here’s a little story that’ll make you chuckle….

Yesterday lunchtime, I was really having a tough time with my fast.  I was driving past an advertising hoarding and on it was a picture of a steaming pizza just coming out of the oven!  You could practically smell the sauce and melted mozarella!  My stomach immediately began to growl.  At first, I started to complain and whinge towards God (my normal reaction!).  But then I began to thank Him for the grace to fast.

Immediately, the thought hit me that fasting does for our spirit, that which ‘supersizing’ at McDonald’s does for our stomach!  (Don’t do it by the way…bad idea!)  In otherwords, fasting enlarges my capacity for God’s presence, more of His Spirit, more of His influence.  I thanked Him for that insight, drank some more water and felt encouraged to continue my fast.

For guidance and focus, here’s what to pray for today………….

~ for favour in the area with people of influence, friends & neighbours

~ for increased strength & unity to come to our two Zones

Keep pressing in……see you tomorrow!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

