onethessthree8

'For now we really live, since you are standing firm in the Lord….'

One thing I do…

Jan 1st must be THE day for starting a blog or rejuvenating one….and I’m no different!  I managed to knock a few posts out last year, but hey, a new year beckons…

The Apostle Paul helps me out here and says ‘forget what’s behind, but press on to what’s ahead’ (Phil 3:13b-14), and so yes, I concur. What’s gone is gone, you can’t change anything (we must all live with the effects of our words, thoughts and actions, good or otherwise). It just makes the gospel acutely good news, doesn’t it?  …..designed with weak men and women in mind!

But I also think it’s healthy to have a quick review of things that I’m grateful for over the last 12 months….

~  good overall health in my family

~  a job that paid me wages

~  a terrific and godly wife

~  the best neighbours in the hood

~  special summer hols with special mates

~  an awesome church family that ACTUALLY cares

You might be thinking ‘bully for you mate’, but I won’t list the ‘not so great’ things of 2010.

However, even those things are wrapped up in God’s unfolding plan for me (and you, & the rest of mankind!).

When you look forward, you do so with new resolve and hope. The writer of Hebrews reminds us…

Let us rid ourselves of everything that gets in the way, and of the sin which holds onto us so tightly, and let us run with determination the race that lies before us.  Let us keep our eyes fixed on Jesus, on whom our faith depends from beginning to end.  (Heb 12:1-2)

In other words, no quantity of our own resolve will suffice. There is, of course, a place for determination and discipline, but ultimately it’s Jesus’ resolve and determination that does it for us. Let’s depend on Him in 2011.

It might be a New Year, but it’s the same faithful God.  I have a rough idea of what’s coming up in 2011 personally, but I’d better hold onto that lightly. Not sure what 2011 holds for you, but Happy New Year!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

